English Language Learners

Content Instructional Leader: Ms. Martha Romero

Contact: 508-997-4511 x 20510

New Bedford is a Title III district with a diverse English Language Learner (ELL) student population from a variety of linguistic and cultural backgrounds. The New Bedford School System is servicing ELL students through a Sheltered English Immersion (SEI) program and a number of other language development supports.

According with Chapter 71A of the Massachusetts General Laws districts are required to educated students identified as ELLs in a Sheltered English Immersion (SEI) program. In our SEI program all classroom instruction, books, and instructional materials are in English, and all subject matter are taught in English. The SEI Program consists of two components: Sheltered Content Instruction taught by a certified content teacher with SEI Endorsement or SEI/ESL license & English as a Second Language (ESL) Instruction taught by an ESL certified teacher.

ESL Teachers

Alexandra Castro

acastro@newbedfordschool.org

Dora Leandres

dleandres@newbedfordschools.org

Susan Ramey

sramey@newbedfordschools.org

Ryan Harding

rharding@newbedfordschools.org

Brittany Jenney

bjenney@newbedfordschools.org

Mamie Luogameno

mluogameno@newbedfordschools.org

Karli Mello

komello@newbedfordschools.org

Robert Snow

rsnow@newbedfordschools.org

Joseph Jette

jjette@newbedfordschools.org

Kaclyn Sylvia

jesylvia@newbedfordschools.org

Su Park

suepark@newbedfordschools.org

Paul Kniaz

kjkniaz@newbedfordschools.org

Marlene Gomes

migomes@newbedfordschools.org

Jacqueline Gomes

jgomes@newbedfordschools.org

Sandra Dourado

sdourado@newbedfordschools.org

Jennifer Doo

jennifersdoo@newbedfordschools.org


SEI Teachers

Justin Mare (Math)

jcmare@newbedfordschools.org

Addys Ollivierre (Math)

aollivierre@newbedfordschools.org

Daniel Iannotti (Math)

aiannotti@newbedfordschools.org

Tayler Tocci (Science)

ttocci@newbedfordschools.org

Nicholas Leblanc (Science)

nleblanc@newbedfordschools.org

Kellee Weeks (Science)

kbarbosa@newbedfordschools.org

Seannine Tveit (Science)

stveit@newbedfordschools.org

Shantel DaSilva (History)

sdasilva@newbedfordschools.org

Mark Clifford (History)

mclifford@newbedfordschools.org