Mathematics

Instructional Content Leader: Mr. Mario Pires

Office: Gold Wing, Teaching and Learning Suite

Phone: (508) 997-4511 extension 20509

Mission

The Department of Mathematics will offer a program of study that ensures all student learners have the opportunity to obtain the mathematical skills necessary to contribute to today's society. The students will gain abilities to critically assess numerical and graphical information; persist in formulating strategies for solving problems; and recognize the importance and contributions of mathematics as it affects the world we live in.  The department will strive to engage students in rigorous learning experiences through building conceptual understanding, practicing procedural fluency and solving application problems.  

Vision

The Department of Mathematics will lead a community of learners to build the computational, critical thinking and problem solving skills necessary to be successful in the 21st century. 

Course Offerings

Pre AP Math Seminar

Algebra I Honors & Algebra I

Geometry Honors & Geometry

Algebra II Honors & Algebra II

Algebra II/Precalculus Hybrid Course

Precalculus

Statistics

Advanced Placement Statistics

Advanced Placement Calculus

Teachers 

Algebra I Technology Pilot Program

Helder Almeida                      halmeida@newbedfordschools.org

Sean McNulty                       smcnulty@newbedfordschools.org

David Morey                          dmorey@newbedfordschools.org

Rebecca Raftery                    rraftery@newbedfordschools.org

Algebra I Honors & Algebra I

Brandon Boyd                        bboyd@newbedfordschools.org

Katherine Boyd                      kboyd@newbedfordschools.org

Richard Dwinell                      rdwinell@newbedfordschools.org

Justin Mare                            jcmare@newbedfordschools.org

Connor McCroskey                 cmccroskey@newbedfordschools.org

Michol Mendonca                   mmendonca@newbedfordschools.org

John Mosher                          jmosher@newbedfordschools.org

Addys Oliveirre                       aolivierre@newbedfordschools.org

Mark Rossi                             mrossi@newbedfordschools.org

Steven Sentes                       ssentes@newbedfordschools.org

Geometry Honors & Geometry

Lucina Castillo                       lcastillo@newbedfordschools.org

Justin Mare                            jcmare@newbedfordschools.org

James Strader                        jstrader@newbedfordschools.org

Mario Rodrigues                     mjrodrigues@newbedfordschools.org

Jennifer Ferrara                       jlferarra@newbedfordschools.org

Sharon Ferreira                       sferreira@newbedfordschools.org

Michelle Perry                        m_perry@newbedfordschools.org

Algebra II Honors & Algebra II

Renee Damgaard                   rdamgaard@newbedfordschools.org

Sharon Ferreira                      sferreira@newbedfordschools.org

Alzira Gomes                         agomes@newbedfordschools.org

Eddie Henderson                    ehenderson@newbedfordschools.org

Seamus Pendergast               spendergast@newbedfordschools.org

Michelle Perry                        m_perry@newbedfordschools.org

Precalculus

Eddie Henderson                    ehenderson@newbedfordschools.org                           

Statistics

Shukla Sangupta                    ssangupta@newbedfordschools.org

Marcia Vieira                          mevieira@newbedfordschools.org

Advanced Placement Statistics

Marcia Vieira                         mevieira@newbedfordschools.org

 Advanced Placement Calculus

Sean McNulty                        smcnulty@newbedfordschools.org

Important information:

The Department of Mathematics is continuously looking to build partnerships with local organizations and educational institutions to grant access to college and universities for all of our students.  Currently, we offer College Board certified Advanced Placement courses in Statistics and Calculus. The department also partners with Rhode Island College (R.I.C.) to provide college credit to students who meet the academic expectations and challenges in our Statistics course.  For information regarding the New Bedford High School and R.I.C partnership, see Mrs. Vieira. 

Helpful Resources:

www.kahnacademy.org

www.purplemath.com

www.mathleague.com

 Math+Comm+visit

Mitchell Chester, Massachusetts Commissioner of Elementary and Secondary Education,
visited  New Bedford High School on Oct. 9, 2014. He observed the collaboration among the math teachers.